From the Web Addendum Vol. I:


Infiltration is one of the most useful and strategic stealth abilities a Character can have. This allows the Character to infiltrate into the Scenario and hide in an advantageous position. Characters with Infiltration benefit from certain special Deployment rules.

Deployment and Infiltration Markers

When a player deploys a miniature with this ability, instead of deploying it directly on the table, the player can choose for it to infiltrate the Scenario. If so, the player places three markers (small size base type), which will be called Infiltration Markers, on the play area, to represent the possible places where the miniature may be hidden. None of the markers can be closer than 6 Inches to each other or to the other side’s Deployment Zone. A party may have more than one unit with this Advantage. If so, you don’t need to place three Infiltration Markers for each Character, you only need to add an additional Marker for each additional unit. This means that a party with two miniatures capable of Infiltration will have 4 possible starting points, a party with three, five starting possible points, and so on. The additional Markers are placed during the Deployment Turn when it’s time to place the miniatures with Infiltration. So, if you have two Characters that you want to infiltrate, first you place 3 markers when it’s time to place the first of them, and when it’s time to place the second, you place another Marker. No matter how many characters have Infiltration, no more than half a party can start the game infiltrated.

A party of 10 Characters can never start with more than 5 infiltrated, no matter how many have the ability.

Revealing an Infiltrated Unit

Starting on the second Turn of play, during the Recovery Phase (but always before the Initiative roll), a player may declare to reveal a Character. If so, the player substitutes one of the Infiltration Markers with the unit. Remember that nobody has to declare where a Character is really “hidden” at the beginning; all of the Markers are really possible places for the miniature to be. A player with more than one infiltrated Character can choose to reveal them all at once or on different Turns. When no more miniatures are infiltrated, remove the remaining Markers.
If there is a miniature in contact with or on top of an Infiltration Marker when the Character is to be revealed, the Character can be moved up to 2 Inches. This movement cannot be used to enter in contact with an enemy unit.
A revealed Character starts the turn as if it were its Deployment, that is, with a number of Actions equal to its Recovery plus one. It can also start with an Upkeep ability active by lowering the number of initial actions. For example, a unit with the Special Ability Shadow Movement can begin with one action less to appear in a Hidden State.
If a Character has still not been revealed when the game ends, it counts as a loss when Victory Points are calculated.

Detecting Infiltrated Units

An enemy player can try to discover if an Infiltration Marker is or not the true position of an Infiltrated unit. To do so, any Character can use a Locate Action and, if successful, the player that controls the infiltrated unit must declare if that is the Character’s real location. If not, the Marker is removed from the table, and it is no longer a possible starting point for Infiltrated units.
If the number of infiltrated Characters is the same as the number of Infiltration Markers left on the table, the controlling player no longer has the option of declaring that this isn’t a possible starting point. There are simply no more places to place units after this. For example, if there are two Infiltrated Characters and only two Infiltration Markers left, when one enemy uses Locate successfully on one of them, the player must place one of the two Characters there, as there are no more points where it can appear.
When a miniature is discovered, it is placed on the table of play with as many Actions as its Recovery (NOT its Recovery plus one). Also, it is considered to have already moved in the turn, so it can’t Move or Charge until the next Turn.

Special Abilities when Infiltrated

While a Character is not placed in the game area (that is, while it’s just a set of Infiltration Markers), it can’t take advantage of any special group rule nor does it provide benefits. For example, a Character with the Initiative special rule doesn’t add +1 to Initiative rolls until it is revealed.